The Troop by Nick Cutter

17571466Expected publication: February 25th 2014 by Gallery Books (first published January 1st 2013)

This is just not a book I can finish reading even if Stephen King said it scared him. I just can’t get into it and had to force myself to keep reading but to no avail. I put this book down several times and had to force myself to pick it back up. Maybe I am just too girly, but that troop of boy scouts annoyed the hell out of me. I didn’t care about their conversations or what happened to them. There is also a gritty realism to the story, with gore and descriptive violence in abundance. The disturbing animal mutilation on top of the boring boys and a predictable plot were simply too much ick-factor for my taste.

I know it’s hard to come with an original horror story these days, but reading The Troop, I felt like I’ve really seen it all before: from Parasite, The Walking Dead (or for that matter any other Zombie novel/movie/series), Dreamcatcher, Lord of the Flies and what not.  In theme and writing it wasn’t original at all.

A copy of this title was provided by Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

Published by

kreativkind

Sind wir nicht alle ein wenig chiwawa? Hier findest du Tipps rund um Upcycling, DIY, Lifestyle und natürlich Cat Content. Trau dich kreativ zu sein!

Leave a Reply

