Scintillate (The Light Key Trilogy #1) by Tracy Clark

18050015Expected publication: February 4th 2014 by Entangled: Teen

I’m trying to figure out why people love it. What might have been once successful with Edward and Bella as pure wish fulfillment of teenage unicorns and dragons dreams might still work for pre-pubescent girls. Publishers sure think like that but I can’t believe that 14-year olds still fall for that crap: Mary Sue MC, slut shaming, insta-love paired up with totally unrealistic creepy-sugary dialogue, followed by love triangle including sparks flying literally and a lot of magic at work.

Those eyes connected with mine, and every atom in the room crackled with delight.

Plain Jane gets not only the hot guy but two of them: The hot Irish exchange student, who can sing and shit and the blond-blue-eyed Italian Giovanni who is just like her sparkling and shit. What is with all the guys panting after her? It’s implied several times that our MC is plain, socially inapt but of course the two hottest guys on earth insta-sea how super-special she is. PHHHLEEEASEEE spare me. Of course the main “character” in this Twilight fanfic is not only super special but also super dumb. When someone tells you to not tell other people about your super-specialness because it’s dangerous (implying that all others like you are dead) what would you do?
A: Try to not tell anyone?
B: write ”I am sparkling silver what does it mean” on a public internet forum and for good measure tell people at school.

What really unnerved me though is the following: It is not ok to make a creep into the love interest. Creepy is creepy. Basta. I mean come on, the MC fucking fears Finn, he irritates her, she’s afraid of him, but that is all cast aside, dismissed as soon as she remembers how beautiful he is? How can it actually be ok to advice teenage girls to not listen to their own instincts? I loathe it when authors are implying that girls shouldn’t think about their own fears because Prince Charming is just that beautiful and charismatic. No man/boy should be above a girl’s right to decline. But this book tells girls that voicing their discomfort is of no importance, that it’s better to feel awkward and submissive then to voice your fear. She knows the guy only by sight but he’s popping up in her hospital room at night, creeps up on her in a room at school and surprisingly comes to her rescue out of the blue. And now he wants to tag along? Creepy much? But hey it’s ok because he is Irish and has those good looks????

Do you mind if I tag along? I’d like to see what you do.”
“No, you wouldn’t,” I said with a dismissive wave.
“Yes,” he said, opening his car door. “I would.”
I got out and crossed my arms. “Why? What is up with you?”
“What kind of foreign policy is it not to show a visitor your customs and culture?” Finn laughed, which sparked some irritation in me. I wanted to walk away, but his gravity pulled me out of my own tight orbit.
He raked his hands through his wild hair, the kind of hair that wanted to be messed. Why was I suddenly imagining leaving rows in it with my fingers?

Because Finn is the hot exchange student from Ireland not even Cora’s cousin and best friend Mari intervenes after she faints and Finn declares that he will take her home. 

“Ready to go?” “I’ll take her home,” Finn said. “She’ll be okay with me.”
Mari’s eyes glinted. “I’m sure she’s in good hands.”

Are you fucking kidding me? A girl that has had a near death experience the week before and was in the hospital for days faints and you just let her go with an almost stranger because he is so hot? Don’t call an ambulance, don’t call her father, don’t be afraid for her, because she will be okay with a foreign stranger. Makes perfect sense. In real life a girl might as easily end up murdered in some dark alley with her body parts tossed into some trash can! But no it’s love, I am sorry I ranted.

“You know I am. Mad in love! It’s fookin’ insane. I talked to my mother last night after what happened at your house. She’s angry at me forbecoming so involved and for sneaking into your room and jeopardizing you. I know—I’m not good for you. I have to go home, Cora. My flight for Ireland leaves tonight.”

Back in Edward and Bella fanfic-territory: She is just that special. Her love changed him. Now he has to leave her. You might think that finally she might voice her feelings. Oh but you are so wrong:

Worry radiated from my center, up to my chest, closing off my throat. I swallowed hard. Had I done something to him? I was simply trying to give him love last night, from my soul to his, but maybe because I was this silver aberration I had inadvertently affected him badly.
(…)
Then, the truth I couldn’t hold back any longer. “I love you.”
“I’m not the same person since I met you. You’ve affected me forever.”(Finn)

Awful!

Published by

kreativkind

Sind wir nicht alle ein wenig chiwawa? Hier findest du Tipps rund um Upcycling, DIY, Lifestyle und natürlich Cat Content. Trau dich kreativ zu sein!

Leave a Reply

