The Destiny of Violet & Luke (The Coincidence, #3) by Jessica Sorensen

17152025 (1)Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by Forever

I am really sorry I didn’t like this book because honestly I really wanted to.
I am not that huge fan of Jessica Sorensen in general but I really liked The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden and The Redemption of Callie & Kayden.
The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden (The Coincidence, #1) The Redemption of Callie & Kayden (The Coincidence, #2)

Jessica Sorensen made me feel the emotional turmoil of the characters, their brokenness, their despair and suffering from abuse, both physical and psychological. The Coincidence was one of the first New Adult books I read with a mesmerizing, gritty realistic love story of two very broken characters. 

When I started reading The Destiny of Violet & Luke I was really looking forward to read about Kayden’s best friend Luke and Callie’s roommate Violet. And it started out even better than The Coincidence. I was instantly reminded of movies on human degradation and emotional delirium like “Requiem for a dream”by Darren Aronofsky and “The Basketball Diaries” by Scott Kalvert with their hallucinatory, mesmerizing quality you both admire and hate for admiring.

Especially Violet’s voice is very strong and spellbinding. 

I hate moving. Not just from house to house, but from family to family. I hate moving my legs and arms, moving forward in my life, because it usually means I’m going to someplace new. If I had my way, I’d remain motionless, never moving forward, never going anywhere.
I feel content in a dark hole of numbness; a place where I can feel okay being the child that no one wants. The child that probably would have been better off dying with her parents, instead of being left alive and alone.

My habit kicks in and I seek comfort in the one thing that can give it to me. Danger. Pushing death. Parasuicidal. Adrenaline junkie. Insane. There’s so many different things it could be called and I honestly don’t know which one it is. All I know is what I do—what I need—to get through my life.

I swallow the anger down and force my voice to come out as upbeat as a cheerleader on crack. “Okay, sounds good.” With my back turned to him I squeeze my eyes shut, reminding myself to breathe, reminding myself that he’s all I got and when faced with the choice of being entirely alone or taking this, I choose this.

But Luke is nothing like the Luke from the two former Coincidence books.

Why Jessica Sorensen felt the need to add to the suicide of his sister by turning him into an alcoholic is above me.

I have a beer in my hand and a few shots in my system, building my safety net for the night. Without them, I’d feel like I was helplessly falling nowhere. I know it’s a dangerous road I’m headed down, especially because I’m a diabetic. There have been a few instances where I pushed my body’s limits and doctors have told me that if I don’t stop, I could end up dead. The problem is that living without alcohol is a life I can’t live.

But I would have bought it were it not for the implausible and unnecessary add-ons of a schizophrenic/maniac mother who also has a serious drug addiction and is also alcohol addicted and a father who deserted him years ago and now wants to step back up into Luke’s life.

I can’t take this anymore. I knew I shouldn’t have asked my father for anything. I wish I could hate him, then maybe it’d be easier to feel so much anger toward him.

But then it turns out his father is also gay and also had a drug problem. Do I sense the gong of incredibility sounding loud and clear in the background? Yes, I believe I do.

But ok, I could have stayed with the book in spite of Un-lucky Luke, could have pretended to hear Requiem for a Dream in the background for a bit longer if it weren’t for the … tatata …“Virgin vs Slut – Theme” . Oh boy does Jessica Sorensen have a problem with sexy girls, or what? Once this started in the plot, it went on and on and on. We get this from Violet, from Luke and even from Seth. I really had a little bit of faith that Jessica Sorensen would for once stop the slut shaming in her books. But no-oh.


HOPE IS A BITCH HOPE IS A BITCH HOPE IS A BITCH HOPE IS A BITCH HOPE IS A BITCH HOPE IS A BITCH HOPE IS A BITCH HOPE IS A BITCH HOPE IS A BITCH

Published by

kreativkind

Sind wir nicht alle ein wenig chiwawa? Hier findest du Tipps rund um Upcycling, DIY, Lifestyle und natürlich Cat Content. Trau dich kreativ zu sein!

Leave a Reply

